Giving Yourself Credit Isn’t Bragging!

Something I’ve been noticing more and more frequently is less and less description when looking through resumes and recruiting for specific skills.  Like many of my candidates, peers, and colleagues, I was often told to limit my personal resume to no more than one page when job-searching.  Although I completely understand the concept of organizing an outlined summary of one’s career accomplishments and proficiencies, now as a recruiter, it is becoming apparent of how truly limiting that could really be.  Less isn’t always more.  Straight and to-the-point relays the exact way it sounds: Simple and basic.

Your resume is ultimately a first impression- An impression to employers, to recruiters, and an impression of how you perceive and value yourself.  It needs to be just as unique as your individual personality.  Hence, it becomes your voice and single representation of everything you have done until a phone or face-to-face interview allows you to bring more creativity and self-expression to the table.  Therefore, what sense does it make to limit your single most effective resume?

I like to maintain strong relationships with those who I represent, and although I enjoy taking out the time to get to know my candidates on a personal level as well as their unique wants/needs, it makes my job a lot easier when they put in the effort to provide value to themselves as well.  If you know you’re talented in a particular area or skill set, don’t be afraid to share and shine!  My passion is turning “just another” company to work for into THE Company that you’ve been searching for and deserve to excel. As a recruiter, I am committed to optimizing your career opportunities and making sure that none of your efforts go unnoticed.  In order to do that, I need to be able to see that you are both capable and willing to perform daily career duties!  Having a thorough, detailed summary of how you directly use primary technologies is an extremely effective way to do that.  If this means running past a page, I do not view it negatively.  Instead, it tells me that your skills and sense of passion about the work you do can not be limited to one page.

On the other hand, there is also such a thing as an over-excessive resume.  I am a firm believer in detail, especially as I represent a wide range of extremely detail-oriented individuals.  However, this does not translate into adding “fluff” words merely to fill space.  The key is to stay as current, relevant, and specific as possible.

I hope this helps! Feel free to reach me with any questions or concerns- opinions are always welcome in my book.

By Jennifer Wheeler

Leave a Reply

